How to grab data from Amazon?

Hi folks,

Apologies for the overly simple question, but how would you go about loading data that is hosted on Amazon in the form ds = xr.open_zarr(fname)? I’m familiar with working with Zarr stores that are on my local HPC cluster, but I’m new to working with data in the cloud and I’m having a hard time understanding all the different types of links. I’m ultimately trying to open the ERA5 dataset on AWS to hopefully do sensible heat flux analysis.

There are a number of great examples in the Gallery that use data that is hosted on AWS, like the CESM LENS demo. The data is described at https://registry.opendata.aws/ncar-cesm-lens/. However, intake reads data from https://ncar-cesm-lens.s3-us-west-2.amazonaws.com/catalogs/aws-cesm1-le.json, which is a different link. The AWS Open Data Registry link has a number of other info about the S3 bucket in the side bar (arn:aws:s3:::ncar-cesm-lens, us-west-2, aws s3 ls s3://ncar-cesm-lens/ --no-sign-request), but I’m having a difficult time seeing how those values translate into the link that we feed intake.

I think part of my confusion also comes from the multitude of libraries that are used to read S3 data. For example, this SST demo uses fsspec to read from the MUR SST dataset on AWS, whereas this ERA5 demo uses s3fs.

1 Like

Welcome @rybchuk! Indeed it is a bit confusing.

First, it’s important to understand the layers. From low to high, we have

• Zarr: this is the format that lots of cloud data are stored in on object stores (S3, GCS, etc.). As you know, Zarr is actually a directory, not a file. Cloud data often use consolidated metadata to remove the need to “list” the directories in the object store, which can be slow.