How to begin for the new user?

Hi,
I am really new to the Pangeo community. So my question may be silly.
When I run the example code no matter which one, I got similar error:

ValueError: Bad Request: https://storage.googleapis.com/download/storage/v1/b/pangeo-cnes/o/alti%2Fj3%2F.zmetadata?alt=media
User project specified in the request is invalid.

I guess I lost something (settings for google cloud?) before run the code. But do not know where to find the solutions?

Can someone give me instructions?

Thanks
Lei

1 Like

Hi Lei,

I think I got this error before when I was trying to run example code without first signing up for a (free!) Pangeo Cloud account: Pangeo Cloud — Pangeo documentation (go to “SIGN UP” section). Once you get an account, you can more easily run the examples as Jupyter notebooks. Hope this helps :slight_smile:

Dianne

2 Likes

Hi, Dianne

Thanks for your reply. The Pangeo Cloud account must be the requirement before using it.
I have send an application to the Pangeo Cloud. And I am waiting the response from the Pangeo staff.

Lei

1 Like

Hi @lei , welcome to the forum, and thanks for filling out the application!

I don’t believe any confirmation of account is sent automatically, but once you fill out the google form you should be able to log in after 24 hours to whichever cluster you requested access to.

If you’re running from one of the hosted JupyterHubs you should have access to pangeo-operated storage buckets. Can you point to the specific example you’re trying to run with a link to the repository or documenation?

Hi, @scottyhq

Thanks very much for your suggestion.

The example I tried is the satellite altimeter along track data: Along Track Altimetry Analysis — Pangeo Gallery documentation

However, I simply use the JupyterLab to run the example (should I use the jupyterHub instead?). And I still got the same error message as my first post.