Suggested database for large amount of NetCDF data

Dear Pangeo Community,

My name is Saverio, I work as a Data Engineer at Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands. This is my first post!

As I am working with data generated from various sensors (disdrometers, microwave radiometers, cloud radars, ecc.), I’m looking for some possibilities to optimally store these data. At the moment, I am simply storing it in a NAS (which is accessed through SFTP), but this obviously offers very limited possibilities for analysis…
I would like to ask the community some suggestions for a database, data lake, or filesystem for this kind of format.

Thanks in advance for the help,
Saverio

2 Likes

Hi @saveriogzz, Welcome to the community. Have you considered storage on a commercial cloud bucket? Python interfaces built on fsspec (such as s3fs for Amazon) make it quite convenient to read and write from these endpoints.

but this obviously offers very limited possibilities for analysis…

As you mention analysis, one great advantage of cloud storage is the ability to spin up cloud compute resources adjacent to your data as needed, and then scale them down when the analysis is complete (i.e., “elastic scaling”).

Out of curiosity, what format(s) are your data stored in? This may also have implications for speed and ease of analysis on the cloud. Many in this community have had success with the cloud-optimized Zarr format, as described in this paper: Cloud-Native Repositories for Big Scientific Data - Authorea

1 Like