Low-budget Cloud Architecture for CESM Ensemble Analysis

Hello!

I am an intern at Ice911 Research tasked with visualizing CESM model output for a nine-member ensemble of climate simulations, in a project investigating the impact of localized surface albedo modification. Thanks to several Medium articles by @jhamman and others in the Pangeo ecosystem, I discovered that Pangeo’s zarr-xarray-dask pipeline for cloud-based analysis is very well suited to this task. I have a couple of questions on how Ice911, a 501(c)(3) nonprofit, can move its model analysis to Pangeo while minimizing cost. I’ve enjoyed the Pangeo community’s approachable documentation, but would appreciate people’s input on a couple of design considerations.

1. Upgrading to a Cluster: We are able to produce visualizations on a single AWS EC2 instance, but most Pangeo deployments use Kubernetes clusters. Is it worth it to upgrade to a cluster?
    • 1.1. My budget for computing services is around $50/month. It is hard to parse AWS’ pricing models to know whether we may deploy a cluster on this budget. Does anyone with experience with AWS and Kubernetes have recommendations on whether it is worth it?
    • 1.2 Do folks recommend applying for a Pangeo Cloud account? This solution seems cheaper and easier, but its future seems uncertain.
  2. Storing and Accessing Data in the Cloud: The variables of interest in the CESM 1.2 model output are stored in monthly time-slice .nc files in S3 Glacier, in different “folders” for each ensemble member. What is the best way to make these files accessible on the cloud?
    • 2.1 It may be convenient to download and convert the ensemble members’ output to Zarr datastores individually then upload each store to an S3 bucket, but then each ensemble member would have a separate datastore. Is there a more convenient way, perhaps by leveraging intake-esm, to make the raw model output accessible?