Looking for the best way to compliment, rather than compete with, this community, but commercially

Hi all, I’m posting this here at the suggestion of @rabernat.

I’ve recently started a company aiming to serve communities adjacent to the Pangeo community on what I refer to as the “data needs continuum.”

I am far from an expert in climate science, but what I am an expert in is running reliable data engineering teams at internet scale. I’d like to apply what I know to the climate space because, like all of you, I want to contribute to the fight of our generation in a productive way. Possibly unlike some of you, I also intend to do it in an unapologetically commercial way.

I’m taking a big chance and trying out this discussion in public because I want to be a good citizen of this community and compliment, rather than compete with, the awesome things you all are doing. Sorry this is long-winded and I promise I’ll get to an actual question soon enough.

I have a thesis that there are many people outside the climate science community who could make a lot of use of data like, especially, the CMIP6 ScenarioMIP datasets, but who cannot ascend the steep learning curve from knowing nothing but SQL (and maybe vanilla numpy) to then using xarray, dask, ESGF, intake-esm, etc, let alone understanding the nuances and vocabulary of CMIP itself. I, myself, made this very learning journey this year and it was definitely challenging, even given my background in big data.