Issue with Dask-xarray migration

Hello all!

I am relatively new to Dask and I was trying to implement a (I think) heavy computation following some tutorials online. Turns out that the outcome was not what I expected so I would like some help if anyone can give me some ideas.

I am trying to mask a 4D matrix of temperature variable by multiplying it with another 4D mask matrix (which is full of 1s and NaNs).So:
Variable matrix of temperature: temp=[365,32,58,50] = [time,deptht,lat,lon]
Mask file: D= [365,32,58,50] = [time,deptht,lat,lon]

These are for the moment loaded lazy as xarrays like this:
temp = xr.open_dataset(’/home/directory/T_1993_2D.nc’)['temp][:,:,lat1:lat2,lon1:lon2]

When I try to do the multiplication between the 2 xarrays: mask1 = temp * D
this took: CPU times: user 1.83 s, sys: 12.1 s, total: 14 s Wall time: 6min 46s

So I decided to do it with dask like this:

AA = da.from_array(temp,chunks=(1,5,340,481))
MM = da.from_array(MLDMASKF,chunks=(1,5,340,481))
result = AA*MM
%% time
result.compute()
This took : CPU times: user 20.8 s, sys: 10.6 s, total: 31.4 sWall time: 4min 7s

In that case I was expecting the result to be an xarray. However It was not:
type(result)
Out[7]: dask.array.core.Array
**In [14]: result **
Out[14]: dask.array<mul, shape=(365, 32, 58, 50), dtype=float64, chunksize=(1, 5, 58, 50), chunktype=xarray.DataArray>

which I do not understand why.I thought that .compute() was there to load the values.

so I tried to convert it to one DataArraybut without success using:
TEST= xr.DataArray(result, dims=my_dataarray.dims, attrs=my_dataarray.attrs.copy())
But I got an error:
AttributeError: ‘Array’ object has no attribute 'dims’

What I really need is to access the values of this new masked matrix, in order to:

1. check that the multiplication is doing what I think is doing
  2. use this new matrix in other following computations

Can someone help me into transforming dask arrays to real values/xarrays??