Downloading HRRR for a specific geographic region in zarr format from S3

Hello!

I have been downloading downward shortwave-radiation flux data from the High Resolution Rapid Refresh (HRRR) from AWS S3, based on an example from Project Pythia (Plotting HRRR 2-meter temperatures — HRRR-AWS-Cookbook). Here’s the URL for the bucket: AWS S3 Explorer

I’ve had no problem downloading data for the whole domain. My question has to do with downloading just the data from a specific geographic region instead of the entire domain.

I’m fairly new to the zarr format, but I understand that the data is broken into chunks that are separately compressed and stored. Is it possible to download a specific chunk off of S3?

If I was able to download a specific chunk, is there any guarantee that it would contain data for the same geographic region in each model run?

Thanks in advance for any comments or suggestions!

Hello @brennanwx,

When you construct and open the dataset as you’ve shared in your code snippet, you’re already doing the majority of the work here. Important point - you’re not actually downloading the data for the whole domain when you use this method. Instead, behind the scenes, you’re making a giant mapping or list of all the data that you might need to download.

If you want to download just a specific geographic region, you just have to prune that list. Just further process ds to select a lat/lon box that corresponds to your region, and then write that subset dataset to disk. That will complete the regional extraction.